Laser 28 International Class Association Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Laser 28 General > Maintenance
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Bow damage repair

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Commodore
Commodore

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Winner Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Bow damage repair
    Posted: 15 May 2020 at 11:00pm
Hi all,

I've got a pretty big chunk out of the bow of the boat right on the red stripe (waterline).  I honestly wasn't playing bumper boats!

I'm a noob at this stuff.  Whats the best way to repair?  I've been told I need to grind it down, lay down new glass/resin and build it back up again, then sand and re-gelcoat.  

I was hoping to get away with some fringe sanding and rebuilding back up with epoxy mixed with adhesive filler, then gelcoat red afterwards.

I'm aware that option A would undoubtedly give better long term results, but would it be worth it relative to the extra time?  The damage appears to be only to the gelcoat layer and not the fibreglass underneath.

Pic attached at:

Thanks.
Chris
Eclipse #240
Thunder Bay, ON
Bill Layton View Drop Down
Commodore
Commodore

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bill Layton Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2020 at 11:15pm
You can see the red has been painted over the red already at the bow. But cracking extends into the white as well. Not sure how far you want to go there. Your repair method is fine except you cannot put polyester (gelcoat) on top of epoxy. When working w/epoxy they usually use paint. 
fatjohnz View Drop Down
Commodore
Commodore

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fatjohnz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2020 at 9:15am
Chris, Your 'adhesive filler' link goes to a landscaping filler. I would not use that.